2019 Teacher Training

Harlem Yoga 200 Hour Teacher Training

Harlem Yoga Studio will be hosting our annual 200 Hour Yoga Alliance Certified teacher training starting in September 2019.  To meet our Teacher Trainers and learn more – join us at our OPEN HOUSE! 

HYS has been dedicated to making Yoga Accessible, Welcoming, and FUN for 10 years, since its founding in 2009. Here students can find a class to suit their needs ,no matter their level, age, experience, or body type, and connect not only through practice, but also through ties to our larger community. A 200 hour TT is an amazing way to deepen your practice, broaden your knowledge of the 8 limbs of Yoga, learn how to bring the physical and mental benefits of yoga into your community, and obtain a solid foundation for teaching Yoga Asana that is Accessible, Welcoming, and Fun for EVERY body! In addition to a solid foundation that will allow you to confidently begin your journey teaching both new and more advanced students, the training will give you a unique introduction and opportunity to explore; Trauma Informed Yoga, Yoga that addresses the needs of a variety body types and abilities, anti-racism and diversity in the yoga classroom, and how to Build Community through Yoga.

 

Here's what some of our previous Teacher Trainees had to say: 

My experience in the HYS TT was beyond what I expected. This training not only helped me learn everything I need to start my path as a yoga teacher, but it also connected me with extraordinary human beings. I felt part of a wonderful community.
Gaby H. TT 2018 

 

Last fall I googled “yoga training NYC” and Harlem Yoga Studio popped up.  It was meant to be.  I live in the neighborhood and I had taken my son to the toddler and me classes when the studio opened 10 years ago.  I immediately signed up and the training was above and beyond what I expected.  The teachers are aHHHmazing.  I learned about yoga asanas (poses) and philosophy.  In all my years of fitness I always went to the fast, high energy classes.  This training taught me that the yoga my body needs was not the yoga I had been chasing.  They have created a training that is a haven and a safe space.  Erica, Amy and Vijay along with the teachers that are brought in for the specials opened my eyes, mind and heart to so much beyond “fitness”.  Yoga is a powerful tool for connecting people and Harlem Yoga Studio is dedicated to their students and the community.

Angela Boswell TT 2018

 

2019:   200 Hour Teacher Training Schedule:

Date Day  Time Key Modules / Travel
9.12.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
9.13.19 Friday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
9.14.19 Saturday 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM  
9.15.19 Sunday 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM  
9.19.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
9.26.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
10.3.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
10.4.19 Friday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
10.5.19 Saturday 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM Anatomy Intensive # 2 / Trauma Informed Yoga Module
10.6.19 Sunday 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM Anatomy Intensive # 3
10.10.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM ** HYS 10 Year Anniversary Party **
10.11.19 Friday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
10.18.19 Ashram Intensive Weekend – Travel to Upstate Ashram
10.19.19 Ashram Intensive Weekend – Travel to Upstate Ashram
10.20.19 Ashram Intensive Weekend – Travel to Upstate Ashram
10.24.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
10.31.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM Halloween!
11.7.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
11.14.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
11.15.19 Friday 6:10 – 9:10 PM Anatomy Intensive # 4
11.16.19 Saturday 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM Yoga , Social Justice, and Anti-Racism Intensive
11.17.19 Sunday 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM Anatomy Intensive # 5
11.21.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
11.26.19 TUESDAY 6:45 -9:45 PM  *note schedule change *
12.5.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
12.6.19 Friday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
12.7.19 Saturday 9:30 AM – 6:30 PM  
12.8.19 Sunday 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM  
12.12.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM  
12.19.19 Thursday 6:10 – 9:10 PM Closing Ceremony/ Graduation Party !!

 * Please note –  dates and times are subject to change slightly